From a graduating PR Student: A couple of parting lessons

“If I was down to the last dollar of my marketing budget I’d spend it on PR!”
– Bill Gates

Image may contain: 6 people, people smiling, people sitting, table and indoor

First Meeting of the new PURE team 2017

After 3 years of studying Web Communication and Public Relations, I’ve come to the end of my time here at Murdoch University and reflecting back, I agree with the saying that you don’t know what you have until it’s gone.

As the Secretary for PURE in this brief semester, I’d like to impart a couple of lessons I learnt throughout the journey.

  1. Get an internship/volunteer/join a club
    Seriously! Even if you don’t decide to join PURE (which is great on the resume by the way), being in a club or volunteering shows you have initiative, teamwork and leadership skills.I learnt this, perhaps a little too late, but I wish I had made time to think ahead and joined PURE early on in my degree to set myself up for a stronger resume.
  2. Build your portfolio
    Having a blog, for example, to showcase your writing skills is one piece of portfolio already! Additionally, different PR campaign/presentations you do throughout your degree can also be used to buff up your resume. It showcases critical thinking and engagement with the PR world, so don’t throw away the work you’ve done and keep an archive of it because it might come in handy.
  3. Make friends, and network!
    Public relations is inherently social, so it makes sense to build those connections from early stages because your fellow classmates are people who will go out looking for the same jobs as you. Attend networking events held by PURE, make friends with different PR professionals (add them on LinkedIn!), and keep your eyes open for opportunities.

That’s about all the wisdom I have, but I do think they are very important foundations to set yourself up for the future.

In between reading Macnamara, Grunig, spitting out a heap load of 10 Point Plans, writing media releases, as well as the other stressful aspects of academic life (all the essays!) I can say that I’m truly going to miss Murdoch.

Lastly, even though it was brief, I really enjoyed my time at PURE with the most supportive and brilliant bunch of students. The feeling of accomplishment after a successful event is like no other!

All the best to future students and good luck,

Laras.

Leave a Reply

