My Favourite Place to Escape Has No Tangible Location

Unlike a lot of people I know I still appreciate those rectangular objects with paper in the middle of them and a hard shell holding it together. Yes I am talking about books, those things that hardly anyone reads these days!

I don’t know if it’s just my inner nerd shining through but I think people need to appreciate books, novels and stories more than Facebook, fake tans and cats (totally kidding cats are highly important and should be given full attention).

Seriously though there is no better (or worse) feeling than holding the last page of the book you have just spent the last couple of months, weeks, or hours reading and finally knowing who dies, who falls in love, who wins, who loses or learning that there is definitely a sequel.

The pages are probably curled and ripped due to ferociously folding it in ways it should not be folded. They probably have dirty finger prints on them from when you were eating some greased up, deep fried, ‘diet starts Monday’ kind of snack and a couple or majority of the pages probably have make up smudges from the tears you shed out of sadness or joy at the journey that book has taken you on.

No worse feeling you ask? Well yeah duh, what are you going to do with the rest of your life now that the series you have vested all your time, emotions and sleep into has ended?

Numerous times before I have closed the final pages to a book, reminisced the good times I had, the places I went, the people I met and then it dawns on me, what do I do now? I’ve been in a whole other world since picking up that book and now its over.

It doesn’t matter what kind of book it is whether it’s an extremely long and confusing series about wizards or a steamy series about some sexy rich man who wears grey ties (let’s not get distracted now), regardless of what book you are reading: You. Will. Get. Attached.

Those characters have become your best friends, you either want to be with them or be them. It all seemed so real and now it’s over, the end of an era… even if it only took a day to read it seems like a lifetime.

But at the end remember: don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened… and then start reading it again.

12007023_749602068479826_1738101725_n

/Zoe Keenan

One thought on “My Favourite Place to Escape Has No Tangible Location

Leave a Reply

