The #LikeAGirl campaign reminds me of why I find PR so fascinating

Some of you might have already seen it, heard of it or spoken about it, I admit that I might be a little slow to jump on the bandwagon on this one, but I have just discovered this amazing video which is part of a campaign run by Always (feminine hygiene product brand for you who are not familiar with it). I think it came out last month and it is going viral as we speak with the hashtag #LikeAGirl. Always have teamed up with the award-winning film maker Lauren Greenfield to illustrate the decrease in self confidence that many young women go through around puberty and how sayings such as “run like a girl, or hit like a girl” may affect this. Most of us can relate to hearing and even using these expressions as insults, however in this video, the viewer get asked the question why ”run like a girl” can’t also mean win the race?

This campaign does remind me of others such as the Dove “Real Beauty” campaign and other branded female empowerment campaigns, it is nothing new with other words and some people might hate the concept. You might argue that these brands try to exploit real issues for their own revenue. However, I am a sucker for it.

I am usually a little reluctant to watch videos online as when they finish I feel like I have just wasted two or three minutes of my life, most of them are utterly boring. However this one made me smile, and then it made me a little sad and worried to be honest. Because it is happening all around me and it is so common that I don’t’ even notice when “like a girl” is used as something often silly and negative. After watching the video I felt determined to make this change.

When this determination took over I managed to stop for a second and realize what was going on, and I thought to myself “This is really clever”. Always managed to get me just where they wanted me. On their website Always write “We’re kicking off an epic battle to make sure that girls everywhere keep their confidence throughout puberty and beyond, and making a start by showing them that doing it #LikeAGirl is an awesome thing – Join the movement”. This is great PR work! Just that thing, “Join the movement”. They make me want to take part of this epic battle as they call it. So I do have to admit, Always have managed to get me so touched by their work that yes, I will go on twitter and use the hashtag, and maybe even buy their brand over other brands from now on. The best thing is that they managed to do this without showing a single product in the video, and this is where PR comes in. They got me because they made me believe that they are a good company, sincerely concerned about young girls confidence. (I told you – I am a sucker for it). Campaigns like this do remind me of why I find PR so fascinating. What do we do and how do we do it to get people to love our brand? Great campaign, great PR work Always.

Jenny Ljunggren 

One thought on “The #LikeAGirl campaign reminds me of why I find PR so fascinating

  1. Great article Jenny! This is a great example of a well executed campaign. These days it’s all about engagement and user generated content. Always has done a fantastic job here.

    I’d be interested in further examples like this, or any examples of projects you are personally working on that you have received high engagement levels.

    Thanks.

    Christian Landels

Leave a Reply

